6 African Muslims Who Brought Islam To America You Should Know

Between Sisters, SVP!

Assalamu aleikum, please read an article I wrote for MVSLIM here or below. #Alhamdullilah
***

african-muslims-4

(My graphic skills can be dodgy ;)… )

As a Muslim of West African origin living in the United States, my Muslim-ness is always contested by Europeans, Americans, and even clueless Africans. They ask me questions like:

“Are you Muslim?” and “Were you born Muslim?”

I get asked these questions a lot by Americans because Islam is something that was made to sound foreign to them.

“I’ve never seen a Muslim from that country wear Hijab.”

Believe it or not, many Africans ask this question as if they are well-travelled.

Is your country predominantly Muslim?”

I get this question from European Muslims as if they had just discovered ‘water on Mars’. In their minds, Black Muslims are an oddity. Because I have been around many of them, I now know the reasoning behind asking such…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 718 weitere Wörter

Ein Gedanke zu “6 African Muslims Who Brought Islam To America You Should Know

Kommentar verfassen

